Nice to Meet You

1 Sep

It seems appropriate that my first post be a little something about myself. We as humans seem to have no problem talking about ourselves, but when it comes to writing that’s a different story. It’s hard to know where to begin. Or end. So here’s a stab at it…

I’m Amy. Just this past summer I turned 30, which was an interesting feeling, but we can discuss that another time. I’m currently separated and going through a divorce, which will be final before the end of this year. While my relationship status doesn’t define me as a person, it has defined the past year of my life. There’s no point in pretending it didn’t happen or pushing it aside and not discussing it. Don’t expect Debbie Downer though, that’s just not me.

I live in Wilmington, North Carolina where I’ve been for about 4 years. I have a full time job that I’m not in love with (if my boss is reading this, this is not a surprise), although I don’t intend on discussing my job specifically, but perhaps work life in general. We’ll see how the mood strikes me.

Wilmington NC waterfront

Downtown Wilmington, NC

What I am in love with is my miniature dachshund Buddy. He’s 13 pounds of pure joy. And trouble. And he’s fantastic. You can expect a lot of doggie lovin.

My dog Buddy

My main squeeze, Buddy

Other things I love include all things health and fitness related. I crave yoga and running on the regular and am generally interested in other things the fitness world has to offer. This is a huge part of my life and what makes me, me. Along with that, I’m passionate about food and feeding my body with food that makes me feel the healthiest. But I love French fries. And chocolate. Lots of chocolate.

[insert pic related to health or fitness – running pic of me?]

Things I do in my spare time include fitness activities, reading, and … well, honestly there isn’t a lot of free time. I’m currently working towards finishing up my master’s degree so there’s not much time left, but after December I won’t know what to do with all of my free time. 🙂  This blog is part of that process and you can anticipate various thoughts on this subject as I move through my last semester.

Other cliff notes about myself: Gemini, strong family ties, daughter, sister, independent, compassionate, stubborn, feisty, not as confident as I’d like to be but getting better, writer, indecisive, optimistic, intelligent, fighter when the time calls for it, mainly a lover, dreamer.

Of course there is much more to learn about me but I give all my secrets away you won’t keep reading….

One Response to “Nice to Meet You”

  1. Mr WordPress October 29, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

