Why

2 Sep

Following up on my post from yesterday, it also seems to make sense to write a little something about why on earth I want to venture into the world wide web of blogging.

First of all, I have to admit that this is scary. Putting yourself out there like this is a little nuts. People from all over the world could read all about me and I have no idea who they are. Is it just me, or is there a certain level of stalking that happens here? I follow several blogs on a daily basis and often feel like I’m stalking these people. I know all about them and they know nothing about me. They don’t even know I’m reading. Creepy!

So now that I’ve just about talked myself out of this whole thing, there are several reasons why I want to pursue this.

  1. I like to write. However, the past few years have been full of writing for graduate work rather than truly writing about what I’d like to write about. A blog will give me the opportunity to pursue writing a bit more seriously. The added benefit/scary part of having people immediately be able to provide feedback will be helpful and push me in ways that other writing might not.
  2. There are certain topics that I believe should be discussed. Top on this list is my divorce. When I was in the beginning stages of separation, I searched for material that discussed this topic candidly. I wanted to know I was normal. There was nothing out there. I decided I would have to be the one to put it out there. If I can help just one person going through it then I’ll be happy.
  3. I want something different for myself. I get bored pretty easily. I’d like to pursue something I am passionate about and see where it goes.

So this is for myself, but at the same time very much for those who may be reading. I welcome your feedback and want to thank you for joining me on this journey.

Love and writing,

Amy

Leave a Reply

