The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

3 Sep

Today is a great day. Today is full of hope, optimism, excitement, and beer. Lots and lots of beer. Today is the opening day of VirginiaTech’s football season! Finally!

Virginia Tech football stadium

Lane Stadium at Virginia Tech

The entire month of August was spent in countdown mode until the opening weekend of college football. I’ve spent my whole life enjoying college football and my beloved Hokies. My dad has been quoted as saying he originally wanted boys, but soon learned it was fine because he could still teach his girls about his love of the game.

There’s just something about the excitement of a Saturday in the fall. All of those people in one spot, happy to be there with one goal – a Hokie win. Football for my family isn’t just a sport. It’s a family bonding experience. My dad’s side of the family has a long history of Hokie alums. Every home game (and even some away ones) is a  family reunion. A chance to catch up. An opportunity to bond with aunts, uncles, cousins.

Dog in a football jersey

Even Buddy loves the Hokies

Today is a day to proudly put on the orange and maroon. Today is a day where the words “gobble gobble” are fighting words. Today is a day where I will bond with 65,000 of my closest friends. Today is a day where I will lose my voice, sweat like a pig, and get to burnt to a crisp. Today is a day where my dad will be proud his girls share his passion. Today is a day where my Hokie pride reaches annoying heights. Today is the first day of the most wonderful time of the year.

Love and football,
Amy

Leave a Reply

