Prince Charming

17 Sep

I don’t believe in fairy tales, but the eternal optimist in me does believe my very own version of prince charming is out there somewhere.

[insert picture of mom & dad here]

Caption: My mom with her own version of prince charming

My prince charming will…

Not feel the need to save me. There’s nothing here to save. No white horse. No burning castle. No crazy witch induced coma. Just me, doing perfectly fine on my own.

Be self-aware. He won’t need me to tell him who he is.

Be confident, secure, and accept himself.

See us as equal partners. He will walk beside me. Not in front. Not in back. Beside.

Be supportive of my goals and dreams for the future.

Understand the connection I have with my dog. He will NOT be jealous of said dog.

Not be threatened by my friendships with other men. He will know he’s #1.

Not care that the person who knows me most in this world is my friend Chris. Yes, Chris is a man. No, he’s not gay. No, I don’t want to have sex with him. No, he’s not attracted to me. This is not a big deal.

Make an effort to do things I enjoy or, at the very least, encourage me to take the time to do things I enjoy.

Understand that just because I need alone time doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy our time together. Sometimes a girl just needs some space.

He will push me to be a better person. Not because I have to. Not because I need to. Because I want to. He will think I’m perfectly fine the way I am.

Not make me feel guilty as a way to get what he wants. Guilt is not a tool in his emotional blackmail toolbox. He doesn’t believe in emotional blackmail.

Not need a wife who also serves as a mother figure to take care of him. A wife is not a mother. He can take care of himself.

Respect me. Respect my family. Respect others. Respect himself.

Make me feel calm. Safe. Comfortable. Happy.

See the real me and love her just the way she is.

[insert picture of me here]

Now is that too much to ask?!

Love and princes,
Amy

Leave a Reply

