Appreciation

3 Oct

This week is Employee Appreciation Week at work. Every October our Human Resources department works extra hard to bring the rest of us various events and ways of saying thank you.

The ironic thing about the week though is who’s doing the appreciating. The “top dog” actually isn’t around much this week. HR is working extra hard and there are many supervisors who dislike having to allow their employees to take part in various events of the week. I guess they’re just too focused on the work that has to get done to allow their employees a free breakfast or lunch. To this I have to say… seriously?!?! It’s the one week a year that employees get a little extra attention and instead of saying thank you, some actually lay on the guilt. So the week really ends up being coworkers appreciating coworkers, rather than supervisors appreciating employees. This is such a shame. Shouldn’t it be both?

There’s an interesting shift that’s happened lately due to our economic situation in America. Suddenly it seems that instead of supervisors saying thank you, it’s the employees who are saying “thank you for allowing me to work.” Lately I’ve been hearing a lot of “I’m just thankful I have a job.” There is absolutely nothing wrong with this. People should be thankful for the opportunity to work, especially when so many others are struggling so badly. But does this excuse supervisors from saying “thanks?” I think not!

It’s a great reminder of how important saying “thank you” really is. I for one don’t need a lot of praise. But I do need an occasional thank you. I do need some recognition every now and then of my time and effort. I’ve had bosses that never said thanks and some that say it everyday. I was more devoted to those who said it, even if I didn’t like the job. I could love the job, but if no one ever says thanks it kind of takes the wind out of your sails doesn’t it?

It’s amazing how far a “thank you” can really go, isn’t it? Since most of us tend to spend most of our time at our jobs it seems most applicable there, but never underestimate the value of saying thanks. I make a point to say it to the person holding the door, the cashier who just rang up my groceries, and the admirer who notes how cute Buddy is (this happens a lot of course). Saying thank you can open up a whole new world of gratefulness in general.

picture about gratitude

According to this article on www.everydayhealth.com, “Research suggests that individuals who are grateful in their daily lives actually report fewer stress-related health symptoms, including headaches, gastrointestinal (stomach) issues, chest pain, muscle aches, and appetite problems.” There is an abundance of further research to support these claims. Really the only research I need is how I feel myself after receiving a simple two words.

I’m letting this week serve as a reminder of the importance of saying thanks and maintaining a gratitude filled life. So in this vein, thank you for reading and all of your support.

thank you note

Love and thanks,
Amy

Let’s chat: Have you noticed a pattern of less gratitude in your workplace? How do you deal with a boss that doesn’t say thank you? Is the “thank you” important to you? How do you incorporate gratefulness in your everyday life?

Leave a Reply

