It’s Not So Bad

5 Oct

I’ve talked before about needing perspective. That was just one example of a moment in time where I needed a bit of perspective to bring me back to earth.

On a normal day, I’m a pretty grateful person. Optimism is my usual cup of tea. I don’t get incredibly bent out of shape over the “little things” in life. But every now and then life throws a curveball and takes me off the pleasant path I have planned for myself. And it pisses me off.

The universe normally has great timing and sends me perspective right when I need it the most.

The latest came in the form of a blog. A while ago I wrote about the issues I was having with my upper hamstring. I don’t do well when I can’t physically do the things I want to be doing. I get incredibly frustrated. In general I just feel “out of whack.” So it’s been almost 6 weeks since I’ve been able to run and my yoga has been quite limited as well. This has taken a toll not only on my physical body, but my mental state too. Just about the time that I was reaching my peak frustration and doing the poor me dance, the universe sent me a link to Ashley’s blog.

Ashley is a vegan, tri-athlete who was in a terrible cycling accident almost a month ago. She broke her pelvis in 3 places, suffered a concussion, and had major road rash. She then had a 4.1 inch screw inserted into her hip to keep all of her parts together. Yikes. Throughout the entire healing process, she has continued to blog and I am completely addicted to her posts, as well as her attitude. As any injured athlete will tell you, there are extremely bad days. And Ashley admits to having them. Yet she writes about her beliefs that there is a time for everything and that she will recover and return to running. How inspirational!

Through Ashley’s determination and consistent belief in herself, I have been reminded of how grateful I truly am. I’ll return to running soon enough and in the meantime I’ll remember that these things happen for a reason. I only wish it didn’t take someone else’s pain to remind me.

I encourage you all to follow her journey back to the world of ironmans and cheer her on. I’ve got the pom-poms ready.

Love and inspiration,
Amy

One Response to “It’s Not So Bad”

  1. healthy ashley December 12, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    I’ve had your blog open in my browser forever, waiting for some reason to reply. Thank you for noting me and believing in me and yourself. You rock!

Leave a Reply

