January 1

1 Jan

Happy New Year Everyone!

Confession: I don’t really get what all the hoopla is about. Never have actually. I practically roll my eyes at all of the emphasis we place on this one night a year. One day every year.

I spent last night at home with Buddy. Just the two of us. We went to bed about 10:30. I DVR’d the New York celebrations and headed to bed blissfully unaware of the craziness that had possessed the rest of the world. I went to bed happy. I woke up happy.

I was pondering today why I don’t really care about the significance of starting a new year and what could possibly explain my total indifference¬†towards the entire thing. In my morning yoga class, this is what came to me:

When you’re happy with yourself;
when you’re grateful for everyday;
when you’re consistently being the best version of yourself you can be;
when you’ve let go of the past, the shoulds, and the expectations that others have placed on you;
when you have absolute faith that your future is bright and your path is clear;
then you don’t need one day a year to celebrate these things.
You celebrate daily.

And this, my friends, is my wish for you. May everyday in 2012 be New Years Day! A celebration of you; your past, your present, and most certainly your future.

In celebration,
Amy

One Response to “January 1”

  1. Ro January 1, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Beautiful!!!…and wonderful that you are in such a great place in your life.

Leave a Reply

