Goals, Well Kinda

2 Jan

In my post on New Year’s Day I confessed to a lack of enthusiasm regarding all of the craziness around the holiday. Part of it is that I don’t really get the whole resolution thing because I am pretty consistently striving towards goals. If people really want to be better then why do they wait until one day a year?

So as a follow-up, I want to make it clear that just because I’m not into the whole New Year’s hoopla, doesn’t mean I don’t have goals, dreams, or ambitions. I’ve thought about doing a vision board for awhile and I used the excitement of the  new year to finally get one made. Funny enough, there were so many things that inspired me and I want to focus on that I ended up with two boards. One is focused more on my physical, active self and has images of yoga, running, and vegan eats. It also includes notes such as “fear nothing, celebrate women, and feel fabulous.” Feeling great includes the mind and body connection of course! 🙂

The other board focuses more on my career ambitions and financial goals. This is a huge focus of mine lately and I think it will continue throughout the year. I don’t do the resolution thing, but these goals would be what most resembles a resolution. For one, I’d like to focus on taking my career in new directions and two (here’s the biggie), 2012 will be the year I sell my house. It’s going to happen people! This isn’t to say I’ll move from Wilmington, but the time is coming to move on from this house. It was the house that my ex-husband and I built together. It’s too big for one person. And the biggest issue, the mortgage is simply too much on my salary. Above all though, I’m ready to be free from the trapped feeling that I get from being in this house. It’s time to be free and move on!

So there’s a general idea of things that are important to me and my goals. You’ll notice that I didn’t state specific goals such as run a half-marathon in under 2 hours. This is a goal I’ve had before, but as a true Gemini, I have multiple personalities. I tend to operate with ideas of goals, but in most cases, if I don’t accomplish them, then I’m okay with that. Goals change. Things that were important to me once, aren’t as important anymore. Why beat myself up for not accomplishing strict goals I’ve set for myself? I’m not sure this tactic would work for most people, but I tend to enjoy life this way and still manage to get things accomplished. I think that’s the trick; I’m not wandering aimlessly through life (even though it may appear this way at times). You gotta find what works for you!

Here’s to our goals, dreams, and ambitions!
Amy

Let’s chat: What  are some of your goals? Do you make resolutions? If so, what are they for 2012?

One Response to “Goals, Well Kinda”

  1. Laura January 4, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I tend to use resolutions to form new habits, so this year I am trying to floss every day and make sure that I eat a vegetable every day. I find habit-forming resolutions to be more motivating than the one-shot goals (such as making a certain time for a run), because I always feel such a let-down after the one-shot goals. Don’t get me wrong, I feel good that I accomplished it, but then it’s like, okay, now what? Habit-forming goals are ongoing, which might frustrate or bore some people, but it works for me.

Leave a Reply

